Connect with us

Blog

Sony PlayStation State of Play This Thursday: What to Expect

Published

on

Sony will be showcasing some upcoming games in their next State of Play this coming Thursday, August 6th. These showcases have been pretty successful since their inception last year. They are a good opportunity for smaller games to have a chance to shine. These games can come from indie developers or from game studios that don’t usually get as large of a platform as the triple A developers. Big and bombastic presentations aren’t what State of Play is known for, which is why I’m a fan of these presentations.

Sony has confirmed that there will be no major reveals in the showcase this Thursday. Like I said, State of Play isn’t usually about the big game drops. Of course, there are always expectations when people hear about a Sony presentation so it is understandable that the hype for the PlayStation 5 or new game releases would be prominent.

The official PlayStation blog was clear about what will not be in the showcase this Thursday,

“There will be no PlayStation Studios updates in Thursday’s episode. There won’t be any updates around hardware, business, preorders, or dates either. On Thursday, our focus is squarely on showcasing some cool upcoming games coming to the broader PlayStation ecosystem.”

So don’t expect any massive drops or reveals. The PlayStation Twitter account went into a little more details as to what to expect, including “focus on upcoming PS4 and PS VR games” and “third party and indie games from June’s PS5 showcase”. Although there are some rumours flying around about what we might see in the State of Play- Redditors have been discussing the possibility of Overwatch 2 content – you will have to tune in on August 6th to see what Sony will be presenting.

The State of Play showcase will be airing at 1pm (PST), 4pm (EST), 9pm (BST) and if you’re a Brit like me, 8pm (GMT). Watch it live on YouTube or on Twitch.

Antonia Haynes resides in a small seaside town in England where she has lived her whole life. She's a simple girl with a passion for zombies, writing, film, television, drawing, superheroes, Disney and, of course, video games. Her ideal day would consist of junk food, fluffy pyjamas and video games because quite frankly going outside is overrated. Follow her on Twitter on @RainbowMachete

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We update daily. Support our site by simply following us on Twitter and Facebook

Facebook

Trending